Nine 9-11 Memoirs that Will Touch Your Heart

Living in New York for a year has many benefits. It’s like having a box seat to culture and history.

In a few days the focus in the city will be on the tenth anniversary of the attacks on the World Trade Center towers. I saw tenth-anniversary t-shirts on sale a month ago.

Among all the possible activities the one I look forward to most is this film: Project Rebirth. A combination of time-lapse photography from Ground Zero and nine individual stories followed over the last decade will celebrate resilience, hope, and healing from tragedy.

I’m looking forward to this film scheduled to be broadcast on Showtime on 9-11.

The film is based on this book. I met co-author Courtney E. Martin for breakfast recently and knew immediately that any project she is part of will be excellent.

If you read the book or see the film, please tell us what made the biggest impression on you. And also share your own memories. Where were you on 9-11? And what do you want to take away from this anniversary time?

About Shirley Hershey Showalter

Author of memoir Blush: A Mennonite Girl Meets a Glittering World. Blogging about Magical Memoir Moments and Jubilación -- vocation in the second half of life.
This entry was posted in Memoir in the News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nine 9-11 Memoirs that Will Touch Your Heart

  1. I thought at the time of terrorism that I had now lived through the worst that life had to dish out. I was wrong. Of course, the holocaust was worse on a communal level but my personal worst came just seven months later when my son was killed in an accident. Whether communal or personal, devastating loss requires time, resilience and hope to recover from. Sharing the horrors of loss brings us closer together. Our nation was definitely closer in the years following 9/11. I personally turned to others who had lost a child, who understood my grief. Walking a journey together always makes it seem more bearable. May we all share the memories on this anniversary so they’ll seem less painful.

  2. shirleyhs says:

    Brenda, I remember my grandfather standing over my father’s grave with tears in his eyes. “It’s not supposed to be like this,” he said. I also will never forget how my mother grieved when we lost my baby sister to a congenital heart disease. I think it must be the very worst kind of grief. I know it never goes away.

    Another inspiring program about 9-11 was this one on Terry Gross’s program Fresh Air on NPR.http://www.npr.org/2011/09/07/140035272/nyc-firefighters-share-memories-from-ground-zero
    I hadn’t realized how many father-son teams work for the NYFD and NYPD until I heard Ken Haskell’s story of a fireman father looking for his son’s body in the wreckage. How awful that would be. Yet the human need to go on comes back. Often it is through giving to others and saving other lives that the best healing comes.

    Blessings to you.

  3. Pingback: Another Way To Hope–A 9-11 Survivor Tells Her Story | 100 Memoirs – Wordpress.com

  4. Aron says:

    I will never forget that day. I worked across the street at the AMEX building and i was outside of tower 1 when it was hit and that picture still brings chills up and down my body

  5. shirleyhs says:

    Aron, thank you for sharing the experience of trauma with us. Most of us can only imagine the horror you saw. I hope you are able to read the story I posted this afternoon (there are three 9-11 posts here). One of your fellow New Yorkers shared how she has coped with the deep and painful memories of the fateful, beautiful, day in September ten years ago.

  6. Nicky says:

    What a fantastic doco. Very heartbreaking & moving but it was nice to see that everyone could heal by the end

Leave a Reply

